KoloToure was at the heart of the Arsenal defence when the North Londoners beat Manchester United on penalties in the final to win the 2005 FA Cup title. KoloToure partnered Swiss defender Philippe Senderos in central defence as the more experienced Sol Campbell started the game on the bench. England international Campbell was an unused substitute at the end of the game which went into extra time and penalties.

Manchester United dominated possession for the most parts but they were unable to find a way past the Arsenal defence well marshalled by Ivorian player KoloToure. The Red Devils were the dominant team to the extent that Arsenal didn't get their first shot on target until seven minutes into extra time after regulation time had ended in a goalless draw.

Arsenal and Manchester United remained scoreless in extra time thus paving the way for penalties. The Gunners ended the game with ten men after Spanish footballer Jose Antonio Reyes was sent off for two yellow cards. Reyes received his second yellow card for a tactical foul on Cristiano Ronaldo. Reyes became the second player to receive a red card in the FA Cup final after ex-Republic of Ireland player Kevin Moran in the colours of Manchester United against Everton in the 1985 FA Cup final. Moran and his Manchester United teammates won that final via a 1-0 over Everton.

Manchester United were the first team to take penalties during penalty shootout with Dutchman Ruud Van Nistelrooy netting his penalty successfully as the first Manchester United taker. Arsenal defender Lauren was also successful as the first penalty taker for the Gunners. Arsenal goalkeeper Jens Lehmann then saved the penalty from Paul Scholes. The next six penalties were successful, with Freddie Ljunberg, Robin Van Persieand Ashley Cole as the penalty takers for the Gunners, while Cristiano Ronaldo, Wayne Rooney and Roy Keane were the penalty takers for the Red Devils. Arsenal skipper Patrick Vieira then stepped up to successfully take his penalty and lead the North Londoners to a 10th FA Cup title.